People allergic to gluten cannot afford to be ignorant about which foods contain this element, simply because the repercussions aren't favorable. Let's take a look at which food contain gluten, so that they can be avoided.
Celiac disease is a medical condition in which the body is unable to digest a protein called gluten. Although passed on genetically, it can also be triggered by pregnancy, childbirth, emotional stress, etc.
Those with this condition need to consume a diet that is free from gluten. However, for this it is important to be well-versed with the foods that contain gluten. The foods which contain this element are as follows:
Baked Foods
Anything prepared from wheat flour, such as breads to pastas to spaghetti will all have gluten in them. Let's take a look at the different baked goodies that contain gluten.
Muffins
Pretzels
Scones
Bread and bread rolls
Bagels
Biscuits
Breadsticks
Bread crumbs
Bread pudding
Cake
Cookies
Crackers
Snack chips
Matzo
Croutons
Donuts
Dumplings
Hamburger buns
Hotdog buns
Melba toast
Pancakes
Graham crackers
Zwieback
Pastries
Pie crusts
Pizza crust
Waffles
Tortillas
Grains and Cereals Containing Gluten
Barley
Bran
Cereals (Farina, Kasha, Bulgar)
Rye
Wheat
Wheat germ
Hydrolyzed wheat protein
Wheat starch
Cracked wheat
Triticale
Spelt
Semolina
Wheat gluten or Seitan
Bromated flour
Phosphated flour
Plain flour
Self-rising flour
Processed Meats and Seafood
Suet
Breaded fish
Breaded meats or poultry
Chicken nuggets
Bologna sausage
Gravy
Imitation crab meat
Salami
Cold cuts
Beverages and Desserts with Gluten
Root Beer
Beer
Instant coffee with gluten
Soups (packaged)
Custard
Fruit fillings
Ice cream
Non-dairy creamer
Syrups
Chocolate milk (packaged)
Candy and gum
Others
Bullion cubes
Malt vinegar
Brown rice syrup
Mustard sauce
Teriyaki sauce
Soy sauce
Salad dressings
Cheese spreads
Blue cheese
Licorice
Some spice mixtures
Curry powder
Monosodium glutamate (MSG)
Canned baked beans
Onion rings
Chapstick, lipstick, lip gloss
Playing clay
Toothpaste
Postal stamps
Basically food items containing components like barley, wheat, rye, buckwheat, soy sauce, distilled white vinegar, mustard, curry powder, ketchup, peanut butter, roasted peanuts, horseradish, etc., should be completely avoided.
Everyday Gluten-free Food
Do not get depressed because the list of food containing gluten encompasses such a large variety of food products. Here's a list of all the food items you can safely consume on a daily basis.
Vegetables
Pulses
Dried peas and beans
Tapioca
Fruits
Coconuts
Fresh herbs
Fresh meat
Poultry
Fish
Shellfish
Eggs
Cheese
Rice
Rice crackers
Rice flour
Dry mustard
Spices like cloves, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon
Corn tortillas
Popcorn
Flax seeds
Millet
Yogurt
Olive pickles
Sugar
Almond
Marmalade
Jelly
Jam
Golden syrup
Molasses
Honey
Pure cocoa and chocolate
Fruit squash
Fruit juice
Tamari soy sauce
Homemade soups
Tea
Wine
The list of foods containing gluten is quite extensive and cannot be entirely listed down here. People with celiac disease or gluten allergy need to exercise caution while purchasing packaged foods.
Check the labels carefully and be on the lookout for terms like bran, binder, malt, rusk, starch, wheat protein, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, filler, rusk, seasoning, and flavoring, which are indicators of gluten's presence. An ounce of precaution is better than a pound of cure!
Disclaimer: This story is for informative purposes only, and should not be used as a replacement for expert advice.